St Barnabas History
The first mention of a church in Queen Camel was in 1291. This church formed the basis of the one we know today and was extensively rebuilt during the 14th and 15th centuries. The tower, 96ft high and unique in Somerset, being the only one built in five stages, was added c.1380, after which the roof was raised and the north and south aisles constructed. During this period the chancel was added. In the 19th century the south porch and the vestry were added as part of the Golden Jubilee restoration. In 2006 four pews were removed from the nave and a dais erected in front of the mediaeval rood screen. The Thacher Chapel in the South aisle was created with funds donated by an American descendant of Peter Thacher, Vicar of St Barnabas from 1574 to 1624. The chapel area is set out as a prayer space and is open to all to come and find space to pray
The community is currently refurbishing the church building. In March 2008 work was completed on a disabled access toilet room attached to the tower, a servery area at the back of the nave and upgraded heating with a new boiler. Plans have now been drawn up to complete the Nave Dias (the staging area) and create an area where refreshments can be served and activities undertaken in worship.
Donations are always welcome for this ongoing project. St Barnabas relies entirely on donations for its upkeep. Cheques should be made payable to Queen Camel PCC and sent to the Treasurer at Henshall Brook Farm, High Street, Queen Camel.